Dorothy Shaw Young Writers Competition

Deaf Australia is pleased to announce that Dorothy Shaw Young Writers Competition (DSYWC) for young Deaf and hard of hearing people will be run again this year.

The competition is in memory of Dorothy Evelyn Shaw, who inspired so many and contributed so much to the Deaf Community.

Since its inception in 1992, the response to the Australia-wide story writing competition has been wonderful, with many students submitting entries.

All entrants are issued with a certificate of recognitition and winners receive cash prizes. Prizes are also awarded to the school that each winner attends. Every year, efforts are also made to arrange publicity of the winners in local newspapers and school magazines.

The theme for 2014 is “Strengthening Human Diversity” – entrants should try to include this theme in their stories.

The DSYWC competition does not judge on English grammar or structure; students now have the option of the deciding how to submit their stories, either in written English format, or filmed with the student signing in Auslan.

The use of video is allowed for those deaf students who wish to tell their stories in Auslan (Australian Sign Language). This allows for story entries from students who do not use English as their first language, and are able to express themselves better in Auslan. This type of storytelling mode is very popular with students who attend Deaf Schools.

Competition Categories

Junior (6 – 8 years)

Upper Primary (9 – 11 years)

Senior (12 – 15 years)

Young Adult (16 – 18 years)

The judging panel usually comprises of Competition Co-ordinator, a representative from Children’s Book Council, a representative from the Education Department Queensland, and an ex Board member of Deaf Australia.

The winning students receive cash prizes, and a voucher and/or resources from Deaf Australia’s Auslan Shop, for the winning entrant’s school library.

We hope that the competition will be enthusiastically supported once again.

Entries close at 5.00 pm on Friday, 7 November 2014.

Winners will be announced at the Deaf Australia’s 28th Annual General Meeting on 22 November 2014 in Perth West Australia.