National Disability Strategy

National Disability Strategy

The National Disability Strategy is the plan that National and State/Territory governments have agreed to use as the basis of their work on disability.

The Strategy is based on the belief that all Australians—including people with disability—should have fair and equal access to the full range of mainstream programs and services available, including: employment, healthcare, education, transport, or public facilities and infrastructure.

The Strategy has six priority areas for action. They are:

  1. Inclusive and accessible communities
  2. Rights protection, justice and legislation
  3. Economic security
  4. Personal and community support
  5. Learning and skills
  6. Health and wellbeing

Deaf Australia attended many meetings with government to provide comment about the draft National Disability Strategy.